Technology

 

“Using cellular technology to gather data from sensors is like using a sledgehammer to swat a fly.”

The X-TELIA network is based on LoRa ™ wireless technology and its LoRaWAN ™ communication protocol. This technology is part of the new Low Power Wide Area (LPWA) family of disruptive wireless technologies changing the connected World. LoRaWAN ™ networks are currently being deployed in more than 38 countries including France, England, Germany, Belgium, the Netherlands, India, China and the United States. A dynamic ecosystem of more than 500 companies supports the adoption of the technology worldwide through the LoRa Alliance  X-TELIA is the only Quebec-based member of the LoRa Alliance.

Alliance-horiz-member-CMYK-TM

Characteristics of the technology

logo-lora

Very low power consumption: Some applications can run for more than 10 years on a small battery.

Long range: The technology is designed to allow a bidirectional communication range of at least 1.5km in the city and more than 15km in rural areas. The X-TELIA team recently performed a 75km bi-directional communication between one of its simple battery-operated LoRa ™ sensors (0,1 watt) and the X-TELIA network.

High security: The technology has three levels of encryption to ensure absolute confidentiality of the data transmitted.

  • Unique network key (EUI64) that ensures network-level security
  • Unique application key (EUI64) that ensures end-to-end confidentiality at the application level
  • Unique key at the connected device level  (EUI128- 128-bit AES)

Low Cost: The costs for a LoRa™ sensor and network connectivity are a fraction of the cost of a cellular-based solution. This enables the deployement of a new generation of applications never before possible. 

Scalability: The LoRa™ network architecture has been designed to support the scalable, carrier-grade networks being deployed around the World. As the number of connected devices increases, so can the capacity of LoRa™ networks.

Technologie

« Utiliser la technologie cellulaire pour lire de l’information de capteurs c’est comme utiliser un bazooka pour tuer une mouche. »

Le réseau X-TELIA est basé sur la technologie LoRa™ et son protocole de communication LoRaWAN™. Cette technologie fait partie des nouvelles technologies perturbatrices de la famille LPWA (Low Power Wide Area). Des réseaux LoRaWAN™ sont présentement en déploiement nationaux dans plus de 38 pays dont la France, l’Angleterre, l’Allemagne, la Belgique, les Pays Bas, l’Inde et les États-Unis. Un écosystème dynamique de plus de 500 entreprises supporte le développement de la technologie au niveau mondial via l’Alliance LoRa™ .  X-TELIA est le seul membre québécois de l’Alliance LoRa.

Caractéristiques techniques de la technologie

logo-lora

  • Très faible consommation : Certaines applications peuvent fonctionner pendant plus de 10 ans sur une simple pile.
  • Longue portée: La technologie est conçue pour permettre une connexion bidirectionnelle d’au moins 1.5km en ville et plus de 15km à la campagne. L’équipe d’X-TELIA a dernièrement réalisé une connexion bi-directionnelle de 75km entre un simple capteur LoRa™ (0,1 watt) fonctionnant sur pile et une antenne du réseau X-TELIA.
  • Haute sécurité: La technologie comporte trois niveaux d’encryption afin d’assurer une confidentialité absolue des données transmises.
    • Clé de réseau unique (EUI64) qui assure la sécurité au niveau du réseau
    • Clé applicative unique (EUI64) qui assure la confidentialité de bout en bout au niveau applicatif
    • Clé unique au niveau de l’appareil connecté (EUI128- AES 128-bit)
  • Faible coût: Les coûts pour un capteur LoRa et les frais de réseau représentent une fraction de ce que coûte une solution basée sur des technologies cellulaires. C’est ce qui rend possible un grand nombre de nouvelles applications pour l’industrie, les villes, les citoyens.